Question checklist
What do you need it to do?
A log records bleeding and symptoms. A prediction is an estimate from dates you already entered. A contraception claim is a separate sentence on the company's own page.Clue describes logging bleeding, symptoms, and cycle statistics, and says it is not a contraceptive and not a diagnostic test.Flo says people use it to log periods and symptoms and to estimate ovulation.drip logs periods and sympto-thermal fertility signs.Natural Cycles is the listing in this set whose company describes FDA-cleared birth control.
How regular is your cycle?
Calendar-style predictions assume a pattern. Clue says predictions depend on the dates you enter. Flo says those estimates are product features, not a clinical reading.Apple Cycle Tracking says cycle estimates in Health are not birth control and not a fertility diagnosis. None of these listings names an app for irregular cycles. The journal noteHow to track an irregular cycleis an explainer of a log versus a prediction.
Where does the data live?
Read where the company says the log is stored, then read Ads data on the same listing.Euki says logs stay on the device, with no account or cloud copy, and that it does not collect personal data to sell or to use for ads. drip says entries stay on the device. Flo says the app uses an account.Read Your Body describes a privacy-focused menstrual app and says you chart your own signs. Apple says its health features are designed around privacy.
On October 23, 2026, Ads data says No for Clue, Flo, Euki, drip, Apple Cycle Tracking, Read Your Body, andOvia, and Yes for Glow and Natural Cycles. The privacy block under that line is the longer company wording. Clue's block says tracked health data is never shared with or sold to advertisers, and that Clue uses usage and device data to measure its own ads. Flo's block says Flo will never sell your data, and that Flo uses device IDs to measure its own ads. Natural Cycles' block says the company does not sell data, and that it matches scrambled contact and device data with social media sites to target ads. Glow's block says Glow does not sell data for money, and that Glow and its ad partners may use personal information for marketing and ads, with an opt-out. If the line says Not stated, the company page did not say.
What's actually free?
Read Free tier on the listing. The labels are Yes, Limited, No, and Not stated. On October 23, 2026 the line says Yes for Clue, Euki, drip, Apple Cycle Tracking, Glow, and Ovia, Limited for Flo, and No for Natural Cycles and Read Your Body. Euki's page, checked October 16, 2026, said the app is 100% free, with no paywalls. drip is free and open source. Apple Cycle Tracking is included with the Health app, with no separate cycle-tracking subscription. On October 15, 2026 Glow Premium was listed at $59.99 a year, $29.99 every three months, or $99.99 once. Natural Cycles requires a subscription, and the homepage that day described annual and monthly plans without a dollar price. Read Your Body's listing says the app is free to download, with a free trial and then a monthly or annual payment, and its Free tier line says No. Confirm that store price before you subscribe. If a company page is silent, the line says Not stated.
Which life stage modes does the company name?
Use the company's words. Clue describes support from a first period through perimenopause. Flo names periods, ovulation, pregnancy, and perimenopause. Glow names period, ovulation, pregnancy, and baby logging. Ovia names cycle tracking, trying to conceive, pregnancy, postpartum, and menopause. Natural Cycles describes modes for planning pregnancy, following pregnancy, postpartum, and perimenopause. Euki is a period and pregnancy log. These listings do not use the phrase "PCOS mode." For PCOS or menopause wording, open PCOS apps andmenopause apps. Those guides stay inside what each company page says.
Do you need contraception?
In this set, Natural Cycles is the listing whose company describes the app as FDA-cleared birth control. Natural Cycles says it is 18+ only, offers no STI protection, and is 93% effective with typical use and 98% effective with perfect use. The company says it uses temperature to label fertile and non-fertile days. Regulatory clearance is not a promise that the method will work for you. Clue says it is not a contraceptive. drip says it is not a certified contraceptive. Apple says cycle estimates in Health are not birth control. Read Your Body says the app is not a certified birth-control device. Euki says the app is not designed as a primary form of birth control.
Will you bring notes to a clinician?
An export or a clinician report belongs in this answer only when the listing records one. Clue's What's paid block includes a Doctor's Report as a paid feature, from Clue's terms. Flo's What's paid block includes a personalized doctor's report. The listing does not say whether that report is in the free account or only in Flo Premium. drip's What's free block includes import, export, and password protection. The other listings in this set do not state an export or a clinician report. Open the listing before you count on a printout for a visit.